CBAO Staff

Craig Buford, CAE

President and CEO

Click here for contact information

Craig Buford joined the Community Bankers Association of Oklahoma in 2004 as President and CEO.  Since that time, the association’s membership has grown by 50 percent, dues have been increased, and members have received greater value through educational programs, legal advice, record–setting conventions, winter conferences, and national recognition.  Association members serve on national committees and boards.  This organization now has both a state and national lobby presence.

Buford has the industry recognition as a Certified Association Executive (CAE), the highest certification presented by the American Society of Association Executives. Buford has been recognized by his peers and the industry, being appointed to the Board of Directors of the Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA), the Board of Directors of ICBA Mortgage, elected to the board of the Oklahoma Society of Association Executives (OSAE), and named the 2008 Association Professional of the Year by OSAE.

Carolyn Bose

Director of Events and Education

Click here for contact information

Carolyn Bose, originally from Texas, is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Urban Studies and Business in 2008.  Prior to joining the BRI team, Carolyn worked as Office Manager of Griffith-Cline Funeral Homes in Bradenton, Florida before moving to Austin, Texas.  While attending UT, she worked for the Texas House of Representatives as Photography Coordinator and Legislative Assistant under a Former House Speaker, and interned for a Mix-Use Urban Development Company.  Carolyn plays an active role in the success and growth of the Community Bankers Association of Oklahoma.

Paul Foster

CBAO General Counsel

Click here for contact information

Paul Foster is the President, Senior Shareholder and founding owner of Paul Foster Law Offices, P.C., located in Norman, Oklahoma, where the firm practices in arrangements with and often in association with Mr. Marion Bauman, Esq. Mr. Foster graduated from law school at the University of Oklahoma in 1984, thereafter engaging in private practice involving bank representation, transactional corporate matters, commercial lending and litigation in Oklahoma City before joining the Oklahoma State Banking Department in 1989.

Mr. Foster served as General Counsel for the Commissioner and the Department for approximately ten years. In approximately 24 years of law practice, Mr. Foster has been involved in both state and national bank, as well as holding company legal, regulatory, consumer and commercial matters. While General Counsel to the Oklahoma Bank Commissioner, Mr. Foster was active in both state and national regulatory matters including leading the drafting committee for the redraft of the Oklahoma Banking Code and the drafting committee for supervisory agreements amongst state and federal examiners for multi-state regulation of banks and bank holding companies. Mr. Foster was chosen to serve as a leader in numerous state, regional and national banking law projects and training involving bank legal and regulatory issues and chaired the national CSBS annual legal conference.

Following his tenure with the Banking Department, Mr. Foster was selected to represent the CBAO in rewriting and restructuring the Oklahoma branch banking and structure statutes. Mr. Foster currently serves as counsel to the CBAO.

Greg Piatt

CBAO Government Relations

Click here for contact information

Greg Piatt has 22 years of experience in banking. From 1983-1992 he work at First Community Bank in Lone Grove, now a part of First National Bank in Ardmore. He spent 1993-2005 with the Exchange National Bank of Ardmore, which is now part of BancFirst.

Mr. Piatt spent 10 years in the Oklahoma House of Representatives. He served as Vice Chair of the House State Parks and Tourism Committee from 2001-2002. He then served as the Vice Chair for the House Banking Committee from 2003-2004 and was Chair for the House Banking Committee from 2005-2006. Mr. Piatt served as Majority Floor leader from 2007-2008.

Mr. Piatt has many legislative honors including the 2006 Oklahoma Mortgage Brokers Legislator of the year, the 2008 Professional Oklahoma Educators Friend of Education Award, the 2007 Oklahoma District Attorneys Council Legislator of the year, the 2007 Belmon Award winner, the 2006 Pioneer Achievement Award, and the 2002 Friend of Tourism Award.